The Department of Education (DepEd), Mathematics Teachers Association of the Philippines (MTAP), and Metrobank in Northern Samar conducted this morning the 2011 Math Challenge division finals for high school students at the Catarman National High School, Northern Samar.

This was learned from DepED Northern Samar mathematics supervisor Mr. Manuel Lipata,in an interview with the Philippine Information Agency (PIA).

With the theme “Moving forward through excellence in Mathematics”, the contest is aimed to develop interest in Mathematics among elementary and high school students. Likewise, inculcates important mathematical concepts and proficiencies, and to further improve the mathematical skills of Filipino students, he said.

Lipata revealed that the contest was open to all public and private schools in the province. The division final was a written-oral competition.

Each team/individual is provided with slips of paper for the answer to each question. There were twenty (20) questions, ten (10) of which was a fifteen-second question worth 2 point each, and five (5) thirty-second questions worth three (3) points each and 5 one-minute questions worth five (5) points each for a total of 60 points, he said.

Winners for the first year high school are: Raihan Vincent B. Cardenas and Renee Marianne Punzalan of the University of Eastern Philippines Laboratory High School (1st placer), Mark Caesar B. Rosales and Mark Anthony I. Persiyas of Lope de Vega National High School (2nd placer), Chelsea Andrei O. Delgra and Gillian G. Pelito of Saint Micahel Academy (3rdplacer).

For the second year level, Kevin Cabacang and Kenith Dadap of Allen National High School (1st placer), Anwar Obadiah Tozon and Neca Colene Pinig of San Isidro National High School (2nd placer), and Kenneth Paana and Lorrene Diaz of Saint Anthony Academey (3rd placer), while for the third year, the first place goes to Allen National High School, second place, Catarman National High School and third place, Saint Michael Academy..

For the fourth year Mariel Grace Gelera and Rosvel Esquillo of the University of Eastern Philippines Laboratory High School (1st placer), Argiel L. Dordines and Darwin Raga of Makiwalo Integrated School (2nd placer), Mc Darwin Eulin and Shery Ann Pahimnayan of Laoang National High School (3rd placer).

Subscribe with Bloglines Add to Technorati Favorites AddThis Social Bookmark Button

No Responses to “DepEd, MTAP, Metrobank conduct 2011 math challenge division finals in Catarman today”  

  1. No Comments
Posting Your Comment
Please Wait

Leave a Reply

There was an error with your comment, please try again.