Sixty tertiary students of the Catanduanes State Colleges will receive citations for their leadership, academic excellence and co-curricular achievements during the annual Civil Service Commission (CSC) recognition ceremonies on March 18, 2011, 3:00 P.M. at the CSC covered court.

The annual rites will honor outstanding student leaders, dean’s listers, quiz winners, outstanding undergraduate thesis authors, outstanding campus journalists, theater arts performers and college varsitarians.

Leading the 10 Outstanding Student Leaders for 2010-2011 is John Elmar B. Templonuevo, Bachelor of Secondary Education, followed by Elvin Randolph R. Jubay, BS in Accountancy; Jann Marvin Posada, BS in Nursing; Joey D. Antonio, Bachelor of Elementary Education; John Michael P. Veruen, BS in Nursing; Joefrey T. Ereso, BS in Accountancy; Kelly B. Advincula, Bachelor of Elementary Education; John Alrey B. Tidon, Bachelor of Elementary Education; Mark Anthony A. Isorena, BS in Nursing and Noreen S. Gianan, BS in Business Administration – Financial Management.

Thirteen nominees vied for the search and were evaluated by a panel of judges based on their evidence of leadership as shown in their positions held in school-based student organization and out-of-school organizations; activities participated in at school-based organizations; contests participated in and won, conventions, seminars and trainings attended, and special activities or projects conducted.

The contenders’ academic standing and evidence of performance through awards and distinctions received in local, regional, national and international level as well as communication ability were likewise evaluated.

Meanwhile, John Michael T. Bernal, 4th year BS in Civil Engineering student tops this year’s roster of Dean’s Listers for obtaining an average rating of 1.40 for the first semester of SY 2010-2011.

Also on the list are John Elmar B. Templonuevo, 4th year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.44); Frenzy Joy R. Mancanes, 1st year BS in Accountancy (1.44); Arjay Tayas, 3rd year BS in Accountancy (1.45); Francis Isaac T. Bernal, 1st year BS in Civil Engineering (1.45); Marjorie T. Arcilla, 2nd year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.45); Frances Fatima T. Tolod, 2nd year Bachelor of Elementary Education (1.45);

Joey D. Antonio, 4th year Bachelor of Elementary Education (1.46); John William J. Tarnate, 1st year BS in Nursing (1.46); Annie Mae T. Zafe, 1st year BS in Biology (1.46); Lalaine S. Vitalicio, 5th year BS in Accountancy (1.48); John Paolo F. Pablo, 1st year BS in Civil Engineering (1.48); Zoren I. Añonuevo, 2nd year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.48); Loi Nadine V. Brusola, 1st year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.48); Francis G. Timbal, 3rd year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.48);

Noreen S. Gianan, 4th year BS in Business Administration – Financial Management (1.50); Raquel Velasco, 4th year BS in Business Administration-Financial Management (1.50); Aileen T. Bajaro, 3rd year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.50); Jomar Cervantes, 3rd year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.50) and John Ely B. Templonuevo, 1st year Bachelor of Secondary Education (1.50).

The graduating members of the CSC Statesman, the official tertiary student publication of the CSC will also given an award for their role in advancing campus press and for their achievements in regional, Luzonwide and national press competitions which consistently brought honors to CSC. To be given citations are John Elmar B. Templonuevo, editor in chief; Elvin Randolph R. Jubay, managing editor; Jann Marvin Posada, news editor and finance officer; Ezekiel V. Tanael, sports editor; John Michael P. Veruen, literary editor and Richard C. Icawat, assistant art editor.

The graduating Hablon Dawani performers who have provided invaluable services to the cultural outreach programs of the CSC will be also given citations and they are Rhena Hennie M. Alberto, BS in Entrepreneurship; Analiza Artos, Bachelor of Secondary Education; Kevin A. de Leon, BS in Nursing; Carol Claire F. Jacob, Bachelor of Secondary Education; Elvin Randolph R. Jubay, BS in Accountancy; Efraim T. Rosalita, Bachelor of Secondary Education and Mc Xavier A. Tanteo, BS in Information Management.

To be recognized too for their award-winning performances in regional sporting events are the graduating athletes composed of Ann Frances delos Santos, Rowena Tablate, Reolita Satairapan and Andelyn Sorra (softball); Ivan Keith Go, Jason Traqueña and Jose Marie dela Cruz (basketball); Louiegi Tomes (volleyball and Perfecto Bien (taekwondo) and Elvin Randolph R. Jubay (danceport).

Margarette J. Telpo will be also given citation for garnering the First Runner Up honor in chess (women) during the National SCUAA Olympics on February 21-25, 2011 in Ilagan, Isabela.

Moreover, Ma. Karla T. Avila, John Michael T. Bernal, Jeremy M. dela Cruz, Benjames T. Go, Jerwin D. Rendon and Yuri I. Soriao, civil engineering students who won in regional and national engineering quiz contests will be also honored in the ceremonies

The best undergraduate thesis authors will be given with the CSC Research Services’ Pisog nin Uswag Award. In the science and technology category, Renee Daisy Avila, graduating BS in Biology student was declared first place winner for her study titled Antimicrobial Property of Abaca Musa Textiles Sap.

Geronimo Tapas, BS in Nutrition and Dietetics senior bagged the 2nd place award for his research titled Development and Standardization of Cream Puff out of Kadyos Cajanus cajan Flour.

Meanwhile, garnering first place award in the non-science and technology category was Kristel C. Maliñana and Jayson B. Tabor, AB major in Economics senior students for their study titled Street Children in Virac, Catanduanes: Case Study.

The research on Level of Acceptability of Selected Virac Businessmen on the dissemination of Rules & Regulations in the Payment of Taxes implemented by BIR which was conducted by Ezekiel V. Tanael, Joeffrey T. Ereso, Lionell T. Masagca, Elvin Randolph R. Jubay and Ronan John B. Toririt, got the second place award.

Subscribe with Bloglines Add to Technorati Favorites AddThis Social Bookmark Button

No Responses to “CSC cites 60 outstanding students for leadership, academic excellence”  

  1. No Comments
Posting Your Comment
Please Wait

Leave a Reply

There was an error with your comment, please try again.